Cannes Film Festival Announces Official Selection and It’s Incredible

- Advertisement -

Fest president Gilles Jacob and artistic director Thierry Frémaux announced the official selection of the 64th Cannes Film Festival at the Grand Hôtel in Paris today. I warn you that after reading over the list, you’ll be insanely jealous if you’re not one of the lucky people attending the festival. The list includes films from Pedro Almodóvar, Gus Van Sant, Lars Von Trier, Lynne Ramsay, Nicolas Winding Refn, Radu Mihaileanu and Aki Kaurismäki.

Our contributor Eduardo Lucatero will be at the festival and he’ll be providing us with a daily blog with his thoughts on the festival as well as the films he’ll see. As previously reported, Terrence Malick’s Tree of Life, will still be getting its worldwide premiere in Cannes. Apparently there was some confusion since a studio decided to release it in the UK sometime in April. However after some legal threats, it seems Cannes will have the honour of premiering the most anticipated film of the year.
Here is the complete list of films:


Midnight in Paris – Woody Allen (opening)

La piel que habito (The Skin I Live In) – Pedro Almodóvar

L’Apollonide – Souvenirs de la maison close (House of Tolerance) – Bertrand Bonello

Hearat Shulayim (Footnote) by Joseph Cedar

Pater by Alain Cavalier

Bir Zamanlar Anadolu’da (Once Upon a Time in Anatolia) – Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Le Gamin au Vélo (Boy With a Bike) – Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne

Le Havre – Aki Kaurismäki

Hanezu no Tsuki – Naomi Kawase

Sleeping Beauty – Julia Leigh

Polisse – Maïwenn

The Tree of Life – Terrence Malick

La Source des femmes (The Source) – Radu Mihaileanu

Ishimei (Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai) – Takashi Miike

Habemus Papam – Nanni Moretti

We Need to Talk About Kevin – Lynne Ramsay

Michael – Markus Schleinzer

This Must Be the Place – Paolo Sorrentino

Melancholia – Lars Von Trier

Drive – Nicolas Winding Refn


Restless – Gus Van Sant (opening)

The Hunter – Bakur Bakuradze

Halt Auf Freier Strecke – Andreas Dresen

Hors Satan – Bruno Dumont

Martha Marcy May Merlene – Sean Durkin

Les Neiges du Kilimandjaro – Robert Guédiguian

Skoonheid – Oliver Hermanus

The Day He Arrives – Hong Sangsoo

Bonsai – Cristián Jimenez

Tatsumi – Eric Khoo

Arirang – Kim Ki-duk

Et Maintenant On Va Où? – Nadine Labaki

Loverboy – Catalin Mitulescu

Yellow Sea – Na Hong-jin

Miss Bala – Gerardo Naranjo

Trabalhar Cansa (Hard Labor) – Julina Rojas and Marco Dutra

L’Exercice de L’Etat (The Minister) – Pierre Schoeller

Toomelah Oslo, August 31st – Joachim Trier

The festival will also mark the 40th anniversary of A Clockwork Orange with a screening of the restored print of Stanley Kubrick’s classic movie.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.