Infographic and Trivia – History of the Best Animated Feature Films

- Advertisement -

Beauty and the Beast (1991), Up (2009) and Toy Story 3 (2010) are the only animated films ever to be nominated for Best Picture, while Waltz with Bashir (2008) is the only animated picture ever nominated for Best Foreign Language Film (though it failed to earn a nomination for Best Animated feature).

The award is only given if there are at least eight animated feature films (with a theatrical release in Los Angeles). For the purposes of the award, only films over 70 minutes long are considered to be feature films. If there are 16 or more films submitted for the category, the winner is voted from a shortlist of five films (which has thus far happened only in 2002 and 2009), otherwise there will only be three films on the shortlist.

People in the animation industry and fans expressed hope that the prestige from this award and the resulting boost to the box office would encourage the increased production of animated features. Some members and fans have criticized the award, however, saying it is only intended to prevent animated films from having a chance of winning Best Picture.

Computer animated films have been the big winner in this category, with seven wins in the nine-year history of the award. The only exceptions were in 2002 and 2005, with winners Spirited Away, a traditionally-animated anime film, and Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, a stop-motion animation film.

Pixar Animation Studios has been the most successful organization in the history of Best Animated Feature. Seven feature films made by Pixar between 2001 and 2009, all have been nominated for this award, and only two have lost (Monsters Inc. lost to Shrek, and Cars lost to Happy Feet). All five others ( and Up) won their respective years.

Toy Story (1985) did not win any Academy Awards (Oscars). It was nominated for three (3) and the producer did receive a special achievement award, but this award was non-competetive, so it cannot be descibed as winning.

Special Achievement Award – John Lasseter – For the development and inspired application of techniques that have made possible the first feature-length computer-animated film.

Since the Academy introduced this award category, the Golden Globes and BAFTA Awards followed the example and present a similar award.

Now BorderStylo‘s presents this crafty inforgraphic appropriately titled, “The Animated History of the Oscars”. Click on the image to enlarge. Enjoy!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.