Sundance ’15: ‘Me & Earl and the Dying Girl’ wins Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award


Following a bidding war that netted the film a sale of $12 million, a record at Sundance, the much hyped Me & Earl and the Dying Girl won both the Grand Jury Prize and the Audience Award from the Sundance Film Festival Awards Saturday evening. The previous film to win both prizes was 2014’s Whiplash, which is now up for an Oscar nomination for Best Picture.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (our own Dylan Griffin raved about it) tells the story of an anti-social high school senior who is forced by his mother to become friends with a girl suffering from leukemia. Directed by Alfonso Gomez-Rejon (Glee, American Horror Story), the film stars Thomas Mann, RJ Cyler, Olivia Cooke, Nick Offerman, Connie Britton, and Molly Shannon.

Fox Searchlight and Indian Paintbrush are now planning a 2015 release for the film. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl was selected by a jury that included Cary Fukunaga, Edgar Wright, Winona Ryder, Sarah Flack and Lance Acord.

In the Documentary branch, the Grand Jury Prize was awarded to Crystal Moselle’s The Wolfpack, which documented the lives of the Angulo Brothers, six Manhattan shut-ins who learn about the world solely through the movies they watch and never venture into the outside world.

Here’s the full list of winners via Deadline, along with links to reviewed films.


U.S. Dramatic

Grand Jury Prize – Me & Earl and the Dying Girl

Audience Award – Me & Earl and the Dying Girl

Directing Award – The Witch, Robert Eggers

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award – The Stanford Prison Experiment, Tim Talbott

Special Jury Award – Excellence in Cinematography – Diary of a Teenage Girl

Special Jury Award – Excellence in Editing – Dope

Special Jury Award – Collaborative Vision – Advantageous

U.S. Documentary

Grand Jury Prize – The Wolfpack

Audience Award – Meru

Directing Award – Cartel Land, Matthew Heineman

Special Jury Award – Social Impact – 3 ½ Minutes

Special Jury Award – Verite Filmmaking – Western

Special Jury Award – Break Out First Feature – (T)error

Special Jury Award – Cinematography – Cartel Land

World Cinema Dramatic

Grand Jury Prize – Slow West

Audience Award – Umrika

Directing Award – The Summer of Sangaile, Alanté Kavaïté

Special Jury Award – Cinematography – Partisan

Special Jury Award – Acting – Glassland, Jack Reynor

Special Jury Award – Acting – The Second Mother, Regina Casé, Camila Márdila

World Cinema Documentary

Grand Jury Prize – The Russian Woodpecker

Audience Award – Dark Horse

Directing Award – Dreamcatcher, Kim Longinotto

Special Jury Award – Editing – How to Change the World

Special Jury Award – Impact – Pervert Park

Special Jury Award – Unparalleled Access – The Chinese Mayor

Audience Award – NEXT – James White

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize – The Stanford Prison Experiment


Short Film Grand Jury Prize – World of Tomorrow

Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction – SMILF

Short Film Jury Award – International Fiction – Oh Lucy!

Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction – The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul

Short Film Jury Award – Animation – Storm hits jacket

Short Film Special Jury Award for Acting Back Alley

Short Film Special Jury Award for Visual Poetry – Object

Scroll to Top