Sundance 2010 Awards

- Advertisement -

The Sundance Film Festival is always an exciting time for move buffs world wide. Even if you can’t make it down to Utah, the festival showcases some promising films to look out for in the year. The Festival has changed over the decades from a low-profile venue for small-budget, independent creators from outside the Hollywood system to a media extravaganza for Hollywood celebrity actors, paparazzi, and luxury lounges set up by companies that are not affiliated with Sundance, though the Festival itself has tried to curb these activities in recent years, beginning in 2007 with their ongoing “Focus On Film” campaign.

This year a slew of changes were made to the Sundance Film Festival. Some of the changes made in 2010 include: a new programming category called “NEXT” for extremely low-budget films, and the Sundance Film Festival U.S.A. program, in which eight of the festivals films will be shown in eight theaters around the country.

Although receiving some rather negative reviews, Mark Ruffalo’s Sympathy For Delicious won a special prize and happythankyoumoreplease was this year’s crowd pleaser winning the Dramatic Audience Award. Filmmaker Davis Guggenheim (It Might Get Loud, An Inconvenient Truth) won the Documentary Audience Award with his school system doc, Waiting For A Superman and Debra Granik’s Winter’s Bone won the top dramatic prize and screenwriting award. Now after earning top honors at the Park City festival’s awards, Winter’s Bones has already found a home at Roadside Attractions who won out in a reported bidding war for a “low- to mid-six figure” sum.

The film is an adaptation of a Daniel Woodrell novel and centers around the Ozark Mountain as a tough 17-year-old girl hacks through dangerous social terrain to hunt down her drug-dealing father while trying to keep her family intact. Lead Jennifer Lawrence has notably been singled out by critics for a stellar performance. (Check out this film review found at

The most controversial film at this year’s Sundance festival was Michael Winterbottom’s The Killer Inside Me. Based on a Jim Thompson novel of the same name, the film follows a West Texas deputy sheriff (Casey Affleck) who is slowly unmasked as a psychotic killer. Despite the fact that the film was criticized for it’s depiction of violence against woman, (played by Jessica Alba and Kate Hudson) it has been picked up by IFC for the lump sum of $1.5 million.

Here is a full list of all the winners.

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Winter’s Bone, directed by Debra Granik

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
Restrepo, directed by Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Animal Kingdom, written and directed by David Michôd

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
The Red Chapel (Det Røde Kapel), directed by Mads Brügger

Dramatic Audience Award:
happythankyoumoreplease, written and directed by Josh Radnor

Documentary Audience Award:
WAITING FOR SUPERMAN, directed by Davis Guggenheim

World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award:
Contracorriente (Undertow), written and directed by Javier Fuentes-Leõn.

World Cinema Documentary Audience Award:
Wasteland, directed by Lucy Walker

The Best of NEXT:
Homewrecker, directed by Todd Barnes and Brad Barnes

Directing Award, Dramatic:
3 Backyards, directed and written by Eric Mendelsohn

Directing Award, Documentary:
Smash His Camera, directed by Leon Gast

World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic:
Southern District directed and written by Juan Carlos Valdivia

World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary:
Space Tourists, directed by Christian Frei

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award:
Winter’s Bone, written by Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini.

World Cinema Screenwriting Award:
Southern District, written and directed by Juan Carlos Valdivia .

Documentary Editing Award:
Joan Rivers—A Piece Of Work, edited by Penelope Falk

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award:
A Film Unfinished, edited by Joëlle Alexis

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
Obselidia Cinematographer: Zak Mulligan

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary:
The Oath Cinematographers: Kirsten Johnson and Laura Poitras

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
The Man Next Door (El Hombre de al Lado) Directors and cinematographers Mariano Cohn and Gastón Duprat

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary:
His & Hers Cinematographers: Kate McCullough and Michael Lavelle

Special Jury Prize: Dramatic:
Sympathy for Delicious, directed by Mark Ruffalo

Special Jury Prize: Documentary:
GASLAND, directed by Josh Fox

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary
Enemies of the People, directed by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking:
Drunk History: Douglass & Lincoln, directed by Jeremy Konner

Jury Prize in International Short Filmmaking:
The Six Dollar Fifty Man, directed by Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland (New Zealand)

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Dramatic for Breakout Performance:
Tatiana Maslany, for her role as a starry-eyed teenager in “Grown Up Movie Star”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.