63rd Annual Directors Guild of America Nominations Announced

The 63rd annual DGA (Directors Guild of America) nominations were announced today. The nominees are: Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan, Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech, David Fincher for The Social Network, Christopher Nolan for Inception, and David O. Russell for The Fighter.  In a surprise move, Joel and Ethan Coen were left off the list for True Grit, which just crossed the $100 million mark at the box office.  Other directors left off the list include Debra Granik (Winter’s Bone), Ben Affleck (The Town), and Danny Boyle (127 Hours).  Usually, the five directors that are nominated here make up the five directors that are nominated at the Oscars but it isn’t uncommon for one of these directors to be left off the list.  Christopher Nolan has received two DGA nominations for Memento and The Dark Knight, but his only Oscar nomination so far came in the Best Original Screenplay category for Memento.

  • Darren Aronofsky – Black Swan
  • David Fincher – The Social Network
  • Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech
  • Christopher Nolan – Inception
  • David O. Russell – The Fighter
Scroll to Top