25 Books Similar to Eragon

A close look at a book opening with stars and a dragon above it.

Christopher Paolini has legions of fans of The Inheritance Cycle, which opens with Eragon. Eragon is nothing but a poor farm boy who happens upon a beautiful blue stone in the forest. Hungry, he hopes he can exchange it for food—instead, the stone hatches. Thus, begins the series, where a boy’s life is transformed as he and a dragon navigate an empire plagued with dark forces.

Readers embraced a character who, against all odds, transforms his life. There is sorcery, a touch of romance, and, best of all, adventure. Also, who wouldn’t want to ride a dragon? Alas, the series only has four books.

Hence, we bring you 15 other series and books that Eragon fans may also enjoy. Of course, for us, we can never say no to legends Ursula LeGuin and Terry Pratchett. But the book world is vast, dear friends, and all on this list are worthy reads.

Table of Contents

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

Click image for more info

  • Author: Christopher Paolini
  • Genre: Space Opera, Science Fiction
  • Awards: Goodreads (2020)
  • First Book Published:  2020
  • Books: 1

Paolini is back with a new book set in space. The plot revolves around Kira Navárez, a xenobiologist. She thinks she has her future all plotted out when she accidentally finds an alien relic. The find transforms her life and the universe while starting a galaxy-spanning war.

No, there are not any dragons, but hear us out: a pig as a ship mascot, a ship that is alive and can think, and highly intelligent space alien “jellies” that look like a cross between a squid, an octopus, and a man o’ war. Oh, and there is a cat with special space shoes. This is science fiction in space for fantasy lovers.

The Belgariad Series

Pawn of Prophecy (The Belgariad Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: David Eddings
  • Genre: Epic Fantasy, High Fantasy, Middle Grade / YA.
  • Awards: Numerous nominations.
  • First Book Published: 1982
  • Books: 5, beginning with Pawn of Prophecy.

The Belgariad opens with yet another farm boy, Garion, who lives a quiet life with his Aunt Pol. Garion doesn’t believe in old prophecies or magical dooms. But, unfortunately for Garion, the truth does not need to be accepted to exist. With Mister Wolf’s arrival on the farm, Garion’s quiet life is about to be transformed.

Christopher Paolini loves these books, so that should get your Eragon heart intrigued. There are swords, sorcery, humans who can take flight, and adventure. By the way, we are team Aunt Pol, all the way.  

In the Vanishers’ Palace

In the Vanishers’ Palace

Click image for more info

  • Author: Aliette de Bodard
  • Genre: Fantasy, Retelling, YA/Adult, LGBTQI+
  • Awards: Nominated for Hugo (2019)
  • First Book Published: 2018
  • Books: 1

Bodard combines Beauty & the Beast with Vietnamese myths to create a unique retelling. The dragon (the beast) is the last of her kind and buys Yên, a failed scholar. Yên fears for her life, but the dragon is actually seeking a tutor for her children. The worldbuilding is beautiful and fascinating, making readers yearn for more stories set in this world.

In the Vanishers’ Palace will be different for Eragon fans. However, those who are ready to expand their wings will appreciate the worldbuilding and inventiveness of this tale. The prose is beautiful, while the message of striving forward, trying again, will be one Eragon readers will recognize and appreciate.

The Stormlight Archive

The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Brandon Sanderson
  • Genre: Epic Fantasy, High Fantasy
  • Awards: Numerous nominations, won Gemmell (2011, 2015), Dragon (2018)
  • First Book Published: 2010
  • Books: 4 published thus far, begins with The Way of Kings

In a world of stone and storms, war rages on in the Shattered Plains.

There, a slave dwells named Kaladin, who once upon a time was a medical apprentice.

Dalinar Kholin, an army commander who doubts his sanity, is intrigued by the ancient text “The Way of Kings.”

Shallan, a scholar, and her apprentice Jasnah sit across the sea is uncovering secrets to the true cause of war.

A plot of multiple storylines, The Stormlight Archive is a series of bloodshed, wizardry, bravery, and despair.

Brandon Sanderson is known for his involved plots that unexpectedly come together like a twisted puzzle. This is a great series to immerse yourself in an expansive, fully realized fantasy universe with a large cast of characters.  Also, with each book being around a thousand pages, you won’t need to go to the gym to lift weights.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Lightning Thief, The (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Rick Riordan
  • Genre: Mythology, Urban Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: Goodreads (2011-2020), Dragon (2017)
  • First Book Published: 2005
  • Books: 5 – begins with The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson is struggling at boarding school. After he swears that his math teacher became a monster and attempted to kill him, Percy’s mom takes action. She whisks Percy off to Camp Half Blood, which is designed for young demigods. There he learns his absent father is Poseidon and becomes friends with a satyr and a daughter of Athena. Soon he and his new gang set off on quests.

Greek mythology meets the modern world in the highly beloved urban fantasy. These great books come in a graphic novel version, too.

Warning to parents: letting your children read these stories means all your children will talk about is this series and Greek mythology.

The Scorched Trilogy

Scorched (Scorched series Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Mari Mancusi
  • Genre: Urban Fantasy, YA
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published:
  • Books: 3 – Scorched, Shattered, Smoked

Sixteen-year-old Trinity Foxx’s grandpa brings home the world’s last dragon egg on Christmas Eve. Trinity thinks he’s lost his mind until the man goes missing, and a boy claiming to be from the future announces he needs her assistance to prevent a dragon apocalypse. Now, adding to her confusion, a baby dragon begins whispering in her ear. Who to believe?

These light and fast-paced reads have dragons, time travel, and action: all elements that tickle the Eragon lover’s heart.

The Katori Chronicles

The Half-Light (The Katori Chronicles Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: A.D. Lombardo
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published: 2019
  • Books: 4 – begins with The Half-Light

Years after Prince Kai witnessed his mother killed by a dragon, he ventures out into the Diu city. He is tested, and after bonding with a Nebean black wolf, he has an awakening. Now Kai must learn to master and hide his gifts before the secrets of the Katori are exposed.

This tale explores those awkward years of growing up in a fantasy setting with a wolf. Readers especially enjoyed Kai’s arc and that the books can be enjoyed by both middle-grade and parents.

Guards! Guards! (Discworld)

Guards! Guards!: A Novel of Discworld

Click image for more info

  • Author: Terry Pratchett
  • Genre: Science Fiction Fantasy, YA
  • Awards: Nominated for a Locus
  • First Book Published: 1989
  • Books: #8 the of Discworld Series

Guards! Guards!  is book eight of the famous Discworld series, and it introduces the beloved character Vimes. It’s hard to discuss the plot without spoiling the tale. But obviously, everyone should read Pratchett’s Discworld; and no, you don’t need to have already read 1-7 to enjoy this one. (Although, by all means, please do.)  

The reason we’re specifically highlighting Guards! Guards! to Eragon fans is because of dragons. Lots of dragons in this one. Also, because this is Pratchett, and he’s hilarious, there are even fire farting dragons. You’re welcome.

Temeraire

His Majesty's Dragon: Book One of the Temeraire

Click image for more info

  • Author: Naomi Novik
  • Genre: Historical Fantasy, YA
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published: 2006
  • Books: 7 – begins with His Majesty’s Dragon

When HMS Reliant Captain Will Laurence seizes the cargo from a captured French frigate, they discover an unhatched dragon egg. Now the captain finds himself part of the Aerial Corps, master of the dragon Temeraire rather than a ship. For in this series, the Napoleonic Wars have taken to the air.

History is given a glow-up with dragons in the Temeraire series. Readers struggled to decide which characters they enjoyed the most: the humans or the dragons.

Dragon Rider Trilogy

Dragon Rider

Click image for more info

  • Author: Cornelia Funke
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: Listen Up (2004), Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice (2007)
  • First Book Published: 1997
  • Books: 3 – Dragon Rider, The Griffin’s Feather, The Aurelia Curse

Firedrake is a dragon who has been living a quiet life in a valley outside of London. However, his bucolic existence is disturbed when he learns humans are going to flood his lands.  On his quest to find the mythical dragon home, he comes upon a lonely boy. The pair become friends and have adventures.

Younger readers of Eragon will be delighted to read another take on being a dragon rider. This is a fun adventure between an orphaned boy and a dragon with magic and mystery.

Seraphina

Seraphina

Click image for more info

  • Author: Rachel Hartman
  • Genre: High Fantasy, YA
  • Awards: Sunburst (2013, 2019)
  • First Book Published:
  • Books: 2, Seraphina, Shadow Scale

 
There have been forty years of uneasy peace in the kingdom of Goredd. There are the humans and the dragons who walked amongst them in their human form. An anniversary of the treaty approaches, tensions are near breaking point as a royal family member is murdered.

Seraphina Dombegh is pulled into the investigation, partnered with Prince Lucian Kiggs, captain of the Queen’s Guard. As their investigation uncovers secrets, it becomes harder for her to conceal her own.

This is a different take on dragons for medieval fantasy. The murder mystery also provides a nice detective touch. A refreshing way for Eragon fans to enjoy their beloved genre.

Dragonology Chronicles

The Dragon's Eye: The Dragonology Chronicles, Volume One (Ologies Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Dugald A. Steer
  • Genre: Urban Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published: 2006
  • Books: 4 – begins with The Dragon’s Eye

Daniel and his sister Beatrice are sent to spend their summer break with Dr. Ernest Drake, their parents’ old tutor. They are surprised to find themselves plunged into dragonology. But dragonology isn’t just research and study; it’s about protecting dragons too, including evil dragonologists.

This is a more modern series for younger Eragon readers that combines “academia” with mystery, adventure, and a good old villain. Oh, and dragons. A large variety of dragons with different personalities.

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles

Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Book One

Click image for more info

  • Author: Patricia C. Wrede
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: Numerous nominations
  • First Book Published: 1990
  • Books: 4 – begins with Dealing with Dragons

Cimorene can’t seem to fit into the princess box: she’s headstrong, intelligent, and doesn’t understand why fencing should be reserved for boys. After all, she fences. Fed up with the boring world of good manners and curtsies, Cimorene runs away and gets captured by a dragon. It’s the best thing to ever happen to her.  

Readers will love the spunky and sarcastic Cimorene who befriends dragons and shuns knights in shining armor. There is a mystery to solve and good laughs to be had. A book that will make you cheer and want for more.

The Harper Hall Trilogy

The Harper Hall Trilogy: Dragonsong; Dragonsinger; Dragondrums (Harper Hall of Pern)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Anne McCaffrey
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade, YA
  • Awards: Numerous nominations, won Balrog (1980)
  • First Book Published: 1976
  • Books: 3 – Dragonsong, Dragonsinger, Dragondrums

Menolly is fifteen and has amazing musical talent. However, her father has ruined her dreams. Thus, she runs away, only to find herself amongst a group of fire lizards. To her surprise, it is here that her love of music will not be scorned.

The Harper Hall trilogy is part of McCaffrey’s award-winning Pern world, which has over twenty books. It is specifically written for a young teen audience. This trilogy might appeal to Eragon readers who find books such as the Dragon Rider trilogy a bit young for their taste but are not quite ready to take on Brandon Sanderson’s thousand-page tomes.

Eon Series (Two Pearls of Wisdom)

Eon

Click image for more info

  • Author: Alison Goodman
  • Genre: High Fantasy, Adventure, YA
  • Awards: Numerous nominations, won Aurealis (2008)
  • First Book Published: 2008
  • Books: 2 –  Eon: Dragoneye Reborn, Eona: The Last Dragoneye

Twelve-year-old Eon has been training for Dragon Magic for years in the hopes of becoming a Dragoneye. If he succeeds, he will be an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune. But to do it, he must never reveal his secret: he’s actually a twelve-year-old girl.

This fantasy world with dragons is built around Chinese and Japanese mythology. The plot has plenty of twists and turns to keep readers interested. Besides, readers just love cheering for Eon/a.

His Dark Materials

The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Philip Pullman
  • Genre: Steampunk, Fantasy, Middle Grade, YA
  • Awards: Numerous nominations, won Carnegie (1996)
  • First Book Published:
  • Books: 3 – Northern Lights (The Golden Compass), The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass

The Gobblers roam the streets and steal children. Lyra’s best friend Roger is gone. She rushes north with her daemon Pan to find her friend, meeting an array of characters, including an armored bear who has lost his armor. She may be young and small, but she’s tenacious and a clever lair.

Philip Pullman’s genius worldbuilding is familiar to ours yet expansive. It is a great mix for Eragon readers who enjoy fantasy but crave some science fiction and philosophical elements. The series, like Harry Potter, matures as the books continue. It is a delight for readers younger and old.  

Dragon Slippers Series

Dragon Slippers

Click image for more info

  • Author: Jessica Day George
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published: 2006
  • Books: 3 – Dragon Slippers, Dragon Flight, Dragon Spear

Creel has a problem: her aunt is planning to use Creel as a dragon sacrifice. Okay, it’s really just a ploy to get a knight to rescue then marry Creel. Nor has anyone seen a dragon for hundreds of years. But then one does show up. Thankfully, he doesn’t eat her or pass her on to a knight. Instead, he gives her a pair of blue slippers. Magical slippers. This isn’t necessarily good.

An orphan is off to possibly save the world––or destroy it. Plus, there are dragons. What more could a younger Eragon reader want?

The Age of Fire Series

Dragon Champion (The Age of Fire Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: E.E. Knight
  • Genre: High Fantasy, All-ages
  • Awards: Nominated for a Gemmell (2009)
  • First Book Published: 2005
  • Books: 6 – begins with Dragon Avenger

AuRon, a rare dragon with no scales, witnesses a group of dwarves slaughter his parents. As he searches for more of his kind, he makes unexpected friendships. Told from the dragon’s point of view, this is a story of friendship and perseverance through hard times.

This is a fantasy setting full of elves, dwarves, and, best of all, dragons. In many ways, this is a coming-of-age tale, but for a dragon. The audiobook versions are a big hit, too.

Septimus Heap Series

Septimus Heap, Book One: Magyk

Click image for more info

  • Author: Angie Sage
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: Two times Goodreads nominee
  • First Book Published: 2005
  • Books: 7 – begins with Magyk

Septimus Heap is the 7th son of the 7th son and was promptly stolen by the midwife the night he is born. Silas Heap, Septimus’s dad, thinks his youngest boy has died. So when he comes across a newborn girl abandoned in the snow, the Heaps take her in.

This is a story of wizards who make potions and spells and even scrawl magic onto toast. A good series for young fantasy lovers.

The Chronicles of Dragon

The Hero, The Sword and The Dragons: The Chronicles of Dragon Series 1 (Book 1 of 10)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Craig Halloran
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade, YA
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published: 2013
  • Books: 10 – begins with The Hero, The Sword, and The Dragons

Nath is a dragon stuck in a human body. Nor has his interactions with other races been the approved path of those such as his father. So, he sets off on a quest to earn his scales. He heads for the Mountain of Doom with Fang, his magical sword, and his closest friend Brenwar the Dwarf.

There are goblins, ogres, trolls, elves, and scheming villains. This is a fantasy sugar-rush of a read for those that want to get their dragon action adventure fix. Great for younger Eragon fans.

Rivenworld Series

Dragon Mage: An Epic Fantasy Adventure (Rivenworld Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: M.L. Spencer
  • Genre: Epic Fantasy, High Fantasy
  • Awards: None found
  • First Book Published: 2020
  • Books: 1 published, one planned – Dragon Mage, Champion of the Fallen (coming 2022)

Aram is a nobody in a small fishing village who happens to have an ancient gift. His magical talent earns himself at a warrior mage academy where they compete to become dragon riders. But, when a dark god rises to threaten the world, Aram’s ancient gift is needed more than ever.

Nine hundred pages of dragon rider goodness; need we say more?

Earthsea Cycle

A Wizard of Earthsea (The Earthsea Cycle Series Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Genre: High Fantasy, YA
  • Awards: Many, including Lewis Carrol Shelf Award (1979), Newbery Honor (1972), and World Fantasy Award (2002)
  • First Book Published: 1968
  • Books: 6 – beginning with A Wizard of Earthsea

This classic is one of the most loved and read high fantasy series. Sparrowhawk, a great sorcerer in Earthsea, yearned for power and adventure. Unfortunately, his meddling unleashed a terrible shower. On his journey to attempt to restore the world to right, he tames an ancient dragon and crosses the threshold of death.

Ursula Le Guin is one of Christopher Paolini’s favorite authors. After Le Guin’s death, Paolini wrote that she had “a profound effect on me, both as a person and as an author.” Paolini, rightly, considers Le Guin a master of the trade, and the world of fantasy is richer due to her works. Paolini wants you to read her work, promise.

Fablehaven Series

Fablehaven

Click image for more info

  • Author: Brandon Mull
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: Numerous, including Nevada Young Readers’ Award
  • First Book Published: 2006
  • Books: 5, beginning with Fablehaven

Fablehaven has been a refuge to magical creatures for centuries. It is enchanting, exciting but not what would be considered safe. Unfortunately, humans Kendra and her brother, Seth, are not the most rule-abiding children and accidentally unleash evil once contained in Fablehaven. Now it is up to them to save all that they hold dear.

Curious kids find adventure and all the magical creatures fantasy lovers enjoy. This series is aimed at Eragon’s younger fans, but parents may enjoy sharing this one with their kids. Also, the illustrations by Brandon Dorman are worth seeing.

How To Train Your Dragon Series

How to Train Your Dragon

Click image for more info

  • Author: Cressida Cowell
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
  • Awards: Hugo nomination
  • First Book Published: 2003
  • Books: 12 – begins with How To Train Your Dragon


Hiccup the Viking is looking to become much of a warrior. Unfortunately, he’s pretty sure trying to capture a dragon is a recipe for being ripped to shreds.

Yes, the books are very different from the movie. But never fear, the fantastic cast of friends is still there as well as the fabulously cheeky dragon Toothless. The humor and action are aimed at the middle-grade crowd (who love them for it). However, Audiobook fans: David Tennant narrates ‘em. True story.  

Dragonlance: Chronicles

Dragons of Autumn Twilight (Dragonlance Chronicles Book 1)

Click image for more info

  • Author: Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman
  • Genre: High Fantasy, YA
  • Awards: Nominated for three Gemmells
  • First Book Published: 1984
  • Books: 3 in the first series: Dragons of Autumn Twilight, Dragons of Winter Night, Dragons of Spring Dawning

A group of friends comes back together after a long time apart. Now each has its secrets. But a woman with a magical crystal staff changes their lives. Now the fate of the world depends on them becoming unlikely heroes. This is a true character-driven tale.

When you ask fans why they love this classic series so much, they’ll say, “Raistlin Majere.” The powerful mage indeed has a significant role to play. But this classic is also where so much fantasy found its inspiration. So many tropes that have become clichés were originals back when this series began—a great primer for your fantasy reading education.

Scroll to Top