Skip to Content

Spike TV’s ‘Scream 2009 Results


The star-studded event known as The Spike TV Scream Awards was held Saturday October 18th at the Greek Theatre. The event honored the best in sci-fi, horror, fantasy and comic-inspired movies and TV shows. Fans voted online for the winners, so some of the year’s most popular programs and big box-office hits took home trophies, including Transformers, Twilight, True Blood and Star Trek. Highlights form the night included Rolling Stones guitarist Keith Richards accepting the Rock Immortal award, as well as Quentin Tarantino paying tribute to director George A. Romero with the Scream Mastermind award. Stan Lee received the Comic-Con Icon award which was presented by Tobey Maguire and Morgan Freeman presented the Ultimate Scream award (Best Film) to Star Trek which proceeded with William Shatner stepping on stage to accept the trophy. “This movie was big,” Shatner said. “Imagine how big it could have been with me in it? … I’ll be waiting for your call.”

Twilight was the night’s biggest winner collecting four awards: Best fantasy film, best fantasy actors for stars Rob Pattinson and Kristen Stewart and breakout performance for co-star Taylor Lautner. Lautner also treated fans to the world-premiere footage of the second installment New Moon.

Since the ceremony wasn’t televised live, Scream 2009 will be edited into a two-hour special set to air on Oct. 27. Here is a list of all the winners.

Most Anticipated Fantasy Film:
Alice in Wonderland — Presenter: Jessica Alba. Accepting: Johnny Depp

Best Sci-Fi Actress:
Megan Fox — Transformers 2 — Presenter: Justin Long. Accepting: Megan Fox

Break-out Performance Female:
Isabelle Lucas — Transformers 2 — Presenter: John C. Reilly. Accepting Isabelle Lucas.

Best Villain:
Alexander Skarsgård — “True Blood” — Presenter: Kate Bosworth. Accepting: Alexander Skarsgård.

Break-out Performance Male:
Taylor Lautner – Twilight — Presenter: Christina Ricci. Accepting: Taylor Lautner.

Best Comic Book Writer:
Jeff Jones — Presenters: Eliza Dushku and Dave Navarro. Accepting: Jeff Jones.

Best Comic Book Movie:
Watchmen — Presenters: Eliza Dushku and Dave Navarro. Accepting: Jackie Earle Haley.

Rock Immortal Award:
Keith Richards — Presenter: Johnny Depp. Accepting Keith Richards.

Best Horror Movie:
Drag Me to Hell — Presenter: Jennifer Carpenter. Accepting: Sam Raimi and principal cast minus Allison Lohman.

Best Horror Actor Male:
Stephen Moyer – “True Blood” — Presenter: Liv Tyler. Accepting: Stephen Moyer.

Best Horror Actor Female:
Anna Paquin – “True Blood” — Presenter: Jackie Earle Haley. Accepting: Anna Paquin

Scream Mastermind Lifetime Achievement Award:
George A. Romero — Presenter: Quentin Tarantino. Accepting: George A. Romero

Best Director:
JJ Abrams – Star Trek — Presenter: Harrison Ford. Accepting: JJ Abrams

Best TV Show:
“True Blood” — Presenter: Cast of “Vampire Diaries”.

Best Fantasy Movie:
Twilight — Presenter: Elijah Wood. Accepting: Taylor Lautner

Comic-Con Icon Lifetime Achievement Award:
Stan Lee — Presenter: Tobey Maguire. Accepting: Stan Lee

Ultimate Scream:
Star Trek — Presenter: Morgan Freeman. Accepting: William Shatner