‘The ABCs of Death 2’ has a release date

Image from The ABC’s of Death 2. Chapter directed by Erik Matti

The ABCs of Death 2 now officially has a release date and it is just in time for Halloween. The film will be released by Magnet and Drafthouse Films on VOD on October 2nd and a limited theatrical run a few weeks later on the 31st .

The sequel is a follow-up to 2012’s horror anthology The ABCs of Death and, like its predecessor, will contain 26 short horror films by some of the genre’s greatest minds. As expected with so many shorts, the original was a bit of a mixed bag. There were certainly some incredible shorts like D is for Dogfight directed by Marcel Sarmiento, T is for Toilet by Lee Hardcastle, U is for Unearthed by Ben Wheatley, X is for XXL by Xavier Gens, and the disgusting L is for Libido by Timo Tjahjanto. There were also some really awful ones. And then there were some one that were just really out there like Z is for Zetsumetsu (Extinction) by Yoshihiro Nishimura. ABCs of Death 2 will surely be similar in quality given the sheer number of content, but at least it’s guaranteed that it will be interesting.

Directors of the sequel will be:

  • E.L. Katz (the amazing Cheap Thrills)
  • Todd Rohal (The Catechism Cataclysm)
  • Julian Barratt (who acted in A Field in England)
  • Steven Kostanski (Manborg)
  • Alejandro Brugués (Juan of the Dead)
  • Jim Hosking (commerical director)
  • Hajime Ohata (Henge)
  • Chris Nash (Skinfections)
  • Álex de la Iglesia (the incredible The Last Circus)
  • Rodney Ascher (Room 237)
  • Bill Plympton (director of the Oscar nominated animated short, Guard Dog)
  • Erik Matti (On the Job)
  • Kristina Buozyte and Bruno Samper (Vanishing Waves)
  • Sion Sono (Cold Fish)
  • Vincenzo Natali (Splice, Cube, and two episodes of Hannibal season 2)
  • Larry Fessenden (The Last Winter)
  • Marcus Dunstan (The Collection)
  • Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo (the modern horror classic Inside)
  • Jen and Sylvia Soska (American Mary)
  • Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (Big Bad Wolves)
  • Julian Gilbey (A Lonely Place to Die)
  • Dennison Ramalho (Ninjas and Love For Mother Only)
  • Lancelot Imasuen (Bent Arrows)
  • Jerome Sable (Stagefright)
  • Robert Morgan (creator of the BAFTA Award nominated short Bobby Yeah)
  • Robert Boocheck (whose short film beat out many other excellent shorts in a competition for directing the M segment)
Scroll to Top