Skip to Content

The Kids Are All Right Soundtrack

The soundtrack to Lisa Cholodenko’s Sundance hit The Kids Are All Right, (not to be confused with rockumentary film about the English rock band The Who) is set for release August 3rd with the digital copy being released July 6th. The soundtrack features 17 killer tracks from indie rocks powerhouses such as David Bowie, MGMT, Deerhoof and Joni Mitchell.
The 2010 is the first film to be directed by Lisa Cholodenko who together with Stuart Blumberg wrote the screenplay. The story centers on a lesbian couple, Jules (Julianne Moore) and Nic (Annette Bening), the mothers of two children conceived by means of artificial insemination. When the eldest child, Joni (Mia Wasikowska), turns eighteen, her brother Laser (Josh Hutcherson), asks her to contact the sperm bank in order to meet their biological father, Paul (Mark Ruffalo). On January 25, 2010 the film premiered at the Sundance Film Festival becoming one of the event’s breakout hits. A few days later, Focus Features acquired the distribution rights for $4.8 million, the biggest sale at the festival. At the 60th Berlinale, the film was awarded with a Teddy.

Take a listen to some of the tracks highlighted below.

01. The Youth – MGMT
02. Black Country Rock – David Bowie
03. Sundown Syndrome – Tame Impala
04. When I Grow Up – Fever Ray
05. Out In The Woods – Leon Russell
06. Milk Man – Deerhoof
07. The New World – X
08. Same High – Uh Huh Her
09. Win – David Bowie
10. Slippin’ – Quadron
11. All I Want – Joni Mitchell
12. Knife – CSS
13. Blues Alley – Geology ft. Yukimi Nagano
14. Galatea’s Guitar – Gabor Szabo
15. Good Lovin’ – Betty Wright
16. Blue Cash – Deerhoof
17. Fortune – Little Dragon