Skip to Content

2011 American Society of Cinematographers Award Winners

Wally Pfister has won the top prize at the 2011 American Society of Cinematographers Award ceremony for outstanding in cinematography for his work on Inception. The other nominees in the feature film category were Matthew Libatique, ASC (Black Swan), Danny Cohen, BSC (The King’s Speech), Jeff Cronenweth, ASC (The Social Network), and Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC (True Grit).

It was the ninth nomination for Deakins (most of the others have come from various Coen Brothers film) and it was the third nomination for Wally Pfister following Batman Begins and The Dark Knight previously. Cohen, Cronenweth and Libatique were all first-time nominees.

Also Roger Deakins won a career achievement award for his work in features, which was presented by Joel Coen. Jonathan Freeman won in the TV category for Boardwalk Empire, while in the TV movie/miniseries category, Stephen Windon won for The Pacific.

See also  'The King's Speech' & 'Melancholia' Win Big At The European Film Awards