Skip to Content

2015 Spirit Awards Nominations Announced

2015 Spirit Awards Nominations Announced


The 2015 Film Independent Spirit Award nominations came out this morning and unsurprisingly there are a lot of names here that won’t be on an Oscar handicappers list. Birdman is arguably the biggest film on this list – and it leads the field with nominations for Best Feature, Best Director, Best Male, Best Supporting Male and Female, and Best Cinematography – but there is a lot of love present for the real indies here as well. Below is the full list of contenders for the 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards airing February 21, 2015 on IFC.

2015 Sprit Award Nominations

Best Feature
‘Love is Strange’

Best Director
Damien Chazelle, ‘Whiplash’
Ava DuVernay, ‘Selma’
Alejandro G. Iñárritu, ‘Birdman’
Richard Linklater, ‘Boyhood’
David Zellner, ‘Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter’

Best Screenplay
Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski, ‘Big Eyes’
J.C. Chandor, ‘A Most Violent Year’
Dan Gilroy, ‘Nightcrawler’
Jim Jarmusch, ‘Only Lovers Left Alive’
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, ‘Love Is Strange’

Best First Feature
‘A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night’
‘Dear White People’
‘Obvious Child’
‘She’s Lost Control’

Best First Screenplay
Desiree Akhavan, ‘Appropriate Behavior’
Sara Colangelo, ‘Little Accidents’
Justin Lader, ‘The One I Love’
Anja Marquardt, ‘She’s Lost Control’
Justin Simien, ‘Dear White People’

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)
‘Blue Ruin’
‘It Felt Like Love’
‘Land Ho!’
‘Man from Reno’

Best Female Lead
Marion Cotillard, ‘The Immigrant’
Rinko Kikuchi, ‘Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter’
Julianne Moore, ‘Still Alice’
Jenny Slate, ‘Obvious Child’
Tilda Swinton, ‘Only Lovers Left Alive’

Best Male Lead
André Benjamin, ‘Jimi: All Is By My Side’
Jake Gyllenhaal, ‘Nightcrawler’
Michael Keaton, ‘Birdman’
John Lithgow, ‘Love Is Strange’
David Oyelowo, ‘Selma’

Best Supporting Female
Patricia Arquette, ‘Boyhood’
Jessica Chastain, ‘A Most Violent Year’
Carmen Ejogo, ‘Selma’
Andrea Suarez Paz, ‘Stand Clear of the Closing Doors’
Emma Stone, ‘Birdman’

Best Supporting Male
Riz Ahmed, ‘Nightcrawler’
Ethan Hawke, ‘Boyhood’
Alfred Molina, ‘Love is Strange’
Edward Norton, ‘Birdman’
J.K. Simmons, ‘Whiplash’

Best Cinematography
Darius Khondji, ‘The Immigrant’
Emmanuel Lubezki, ‘Birdman’
Sean Porter ‘It Felt Like Love’
Lyle Vincent, ‘A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night’
Bradford Young, ‘Selma’

Best Editing
Sandra Adair, ‘Boyhood’
Tom Cross, ‘Whiplash’
John Gilroy, ‘Nightcrawler’
Ron Patane, ‘A Most Violent Year’
Adam Wingard, ‘The Guest’

Best Documentary
‘20,000 Days on Earth’
‘Stray Dog’
‘The Salt of the Earth’

Best International Film
‘Force Majeure’ (Sweden)
‘Ida’ (Poland)
‘Leviathan’ (Russia)
‘Mommy’ (Canada)
‘Norte, the End of History’ (Philippines)
‘Under the Skin’ (United Kingdom)

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)
‘Inherent Vice’

Special Distinction Award