Skip to Content

‘Boyhood’ wins New York Film Critics top prize

‘Boyhood’ wins New York Film Critics top prize


It’s December 1, so that means its time for everyone to start publishing their lists of the Best of the Year. As though an entire year of list making and awards giving was not enough, December is that time of year when non-stop arguing over placement, snubs and things you still need to catch up on is perfectly acceptable Internet behavior.

First up to the plate is the New York Film Critics Circle, the first and self-designated most important prize among critics groups from across the country. Expect to hear more about this and all the other prizes in the coming weeks of the Hype Cycle column found on the SOS Blog, but for now this is the only critics prize that matters.

And they’ve picked well, honoring Richard Linklater’s Boyhood with Best Film, Best Director and Best Supporting Actress for Patricia Arquette.

Picking up a surprising two prizes was James Gray’s The Immigrant, which won Best Cinematography and was one of two films recognized for Best Actress Marion Cotillard.

Others awarded included Wes Anderson, Timothy Spall, J.K. Simmons, The LEGO Movie, The Babadook, Ida and the documentary Citizenfour.

See the full list of winners below:

Best FilmBoyhood

Best Actor – Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)

Best Actress – Marion Cotillard (The Immigrant, Two Days, One Night)

Best Director – Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Supporting Actor – J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Supporting Actress – Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

Best Foreign Language FilmIda

Best Animated FilmThe LEGO Movie

Best ScreenplayThe Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Cinematography – Darius Khondji (The Immigrant)

Best Non-Fiction FilmCitizenfour

Best First FilmThe Babadook

Special Award – Adrienne Mencia