Skip to Content

Two More Directors Added To ‘The ABCs of Death’

Jorge Michel Grau’s cannibal film We Are What We Are made our list of the best films of 2010. Now it seems the director along with Jon Schnepp (Metalocalypse) have joined the roster of directors working on the upcoming anthology film The ABCs of Death. Both men are excellent candidates for the project.

In the same way Let The Right One In reinvented the vampire brand and [Rec] put a clever twist on the epedemic /zombie film, We Are What We Are reinvigorated the cannibal genre with an emotional portrait of a family bound by a terrible secret and driven by monstrous appetites. Metalocalypse is an interesting project, an American animated television series, that centers around the larger than life death metal band Dethklok and often portrays dark and macabre content, including such subjects as violence, death, and the drawbacks of fame, with extremely hyperbolic black humor. While I am not the biggest fan of horror anthologies, mainly because usually only half of the segements are actually good – I must say that based on the roster so far, The ABCs of Death looks very promissing. As previously reported, the 26th slot of the film has been reserved for the winner of a contest that ends on October 1. You can check out a ton of entries submitted at the official site.

The following is the list of participating directors:

Kaare Andrews (Altitude), USA
Angela Bettis (Roman), USA
Ernesto Diaz Espinoza (Mirageman; Mandrill), Chile
Jason Eisener (Hobo With A Shotgun), Canada
Bruno Forzani & Héléne Cattet (Amer), Belgium
Adrian Garcia Bogliano (Cold Sweat), Mexico
Xavier Gens (Frontiers), France
Jorge Michel Grau (We Are What We Are), Mexico
Noburo Iguchi, (Robo Geisha), Japan
Thomas Malling (Norwegian Ninja), Norway
Anders Morgenthaler (Princess), Denmark
Yoshihrio Nishimura (Tokyo Gore Police), Japan
Banjong Pisathanakun (Shutter),Thailand
Simon Rumley (Red, White & Blue), UK
Marcel Sarmiento (Deadgirl), USA
Jon Schnepp (Metalocalypse; The Venture Bros.), USA
Srdjan Spasojevic (A Serbian Film), Serbia
Timo Tjahjanto (Macabre), Indonesia
Andrew Traucki (The Reef), Australia
Nacho Vigalondo (TimeCrimes), Spain
Jake West (Doghouse), UK
Ti West (House of the Devil; The Innkeepers), USA
Ben Wheatley (Down Terrace; Kill List), UK
Adam Wingard (A Horrible Way to Die), USA
Yudai Yamaguchi (Yakuza Weapon), Japan